Translation of Yang Jiang’s Cadre School Diaries – Notes on Leave Taking – P2

shuangyashan_maj_lampa

我们俩每天各在自己单位的食堂排队买饭吃。排队足足要费半小时;回家自己做饭又太费事,也来不及。工、军宣传队后来管束稍懈,我们经常中午约会同上饭店。饭店里并没有好饭吃,也得等待;但两人一起等,可以说说话。那年十一月三日,我先在学校部大门口的公共汽车站等待,看见默存杂在人群里出来。他过来站在我旁边,低声说:“耽会儿告诉你一件大事。”我着看他的脸色,猜不出什么事。

Every day the two us would queue up to get food at our respective work units’canteens. In total the queuing wasted half an hour; going back home to cook was also a waste of time and we’d be late back to work besides. Later, the Worker’s Army Propaganda Brigade loosened their hold on us and we would often meet at a cafe at midday. The food was substandard and the service was slow, but a couple waiting together could have a good chat. On 3rd November that year I was waiting at the bus stop just outside the school’s main gate. I saw Mocun slip out from the milling crowd. He walked over to me and stood by my side, he said to me in hushed tones,“I have big news to tell you, in a moment.” I looked at his face but I couldn’t guess what his big news was.

Leave a Reply

